CreditPal
How it works Pricing Blog FAQ Contact Log in

Alternative

Bilt Rent Reporting Review and Whether Free Credit Boost Is Good or Bad for Your Score

Bilt rent reporting, which Bilt calls Credit Boost, is free. Bilt's help center says there are "no hidden costs to you or your landlord," and it reports on-time rent to Experian, TransUnion and Equifax once you opt in. The conditions sit in the fine print: the rent has to be paid through Bilt, past months count only if they were paid through Bilt on your current lease, and roommates who split the rent cannot enroll at all. CreditPal is not a rent reporting service. It reads your credit file and tells you whether a rent tradeline would move the score your next lender actually pulls, so you know whether switching your rent payments to Bilt is worth the trouble.

Credit console
read-only, nothing is saved
Start with the situation closest to yours
Reading the factors

Current score

What is moving the score

Try an action and see where it points

The plan, in order of what pays off first

Educational guidance only, never a promise of a score

Pick a profile, run a what-if, see your plan

Side by side

CreditPal vs Bilt Rent Reporting

Capability CreditPal Bilt Rent Reporting
What you pay From $7 a month ($84 billed yearly, or $9 month to month) Free to the renter and the landlord, per Bilt
What it is An AI credit coach that reads your file A rent reporting option inside the Bilt app and website
Who can sign up Anyone, read-only connection Bilt members who pay their rent through Bilt, in partner or non-partner buildings
Bureaus Not applicable Experian, TransUnion and Equifax
Past rent Not applicable Only rent paid through Bilt, on time, on your current lease
Late payments Not applicable Not reported. On time means paid before the date you enter at enrollment
Roommates splitting rent Not applicable Not supported. You must pay the full lease rent
Tells you whether a rent tradeline moves the score your lender uses
What-if simulator before you act

Comparison reflects general product positioning and is provided in good faith. Verify current capabilities with each vendor.

The field

What the tools cost and who each one is for

Tool What it actually is Typical price Best for
Bilt Credit Boost On-time rent paid through Bilt, reported to all three bureaus, with optional past rent paid through Bilt on the current lease Free Renters who already pay, or are willing to pay, rent through Bilt
Zillow rent reporting (free) On-time rent paid through Zillow payments, reported to Experian and Equifax, up to 24 months of past rent on the current lease Free Renters whose landlord collects rent on Zillow Rental Manager
CreditClimb by Esusu (through Zillow) Reports rent you pay anywhere to all three bureaus, up to 24 months of past rent on the current lease $20 a year Renters who split rent or will not move their payments to a new app
Boom Links your bank and finds rent paid by Zelle, Venmo, Cash App, ACH or check $5 a month billed $60 a year, plus $25 once for past rent Renters who want an account that follows them when they move
CreditPal Not a rent reporting service and not a lender. An AI credit coach that reads your file read-only and simulates whether a rent tradeline would change the score your lender pulls From $7 a month Anyone deciding whether rent reporting is worth setting up at all

Bilt terms were read on 24 October 2026 from Bilt's rent reporting help center (including its section on rent reporting in non-partner buildings) and its Credit Boost page. Zillow, CreditClimb and Boom prices come from each provider's own pages on our earlier checks and change without notice, so confirm before you subscribe. CreditPal is educational only: not a lender, not credit repair, not a rent reporting service, and never a promise of a score or a date.

Renter on a couch checking the monthly fees on his rent payment app next to a printed rent statement

Is Bilt rent reporting free?

Yes. Bilt's help center answers "How much does Bilt's Rent Reporting cost?" with "It's completely free! There are no hidden costs to you or your landlord." Its Credit Boost page says Bilt reports "to all three major credit bureaus (Experian, TransUnion, and Equifax) at no cost." Bilt calls itself the first program to offer three-bureau rent reporting at zero cost to members.

Free is unusual in this category. Most services that report all three bureaus charge $4.99 a month or more: RealPage, Buildium and TurboTenant all sit at $4.99, and RentRedi runs $3.99 to $5.99. The closest rival on price is Zillow's CreditClimb at $20 a year. Bilt makes its money elsewhere, from its rewards program and card, so the reporting is a feature of the membership rather than a product you buy. Compare the field in our guide to how much rent reporting costs.

Do I have to pay rent through Bilt for rent reporting?

Yes, and this is the condition that decides whether Bilt works for you. Bilt's help center answers "Do I have to pay through Bilt?" with "Yes, your payments need to be submitted through Bilt for us to accurately report the payments to the credit bureaus." The Credit Boost page repeats it: "To maintain eligibility, remember you must pay your rent through Bilt."

If your building is in the Bilt Alliance, you already pay in the Bilt app and there is nothing to change. If it is not, Bilt has a separate enrollment path for non-partner buildings: you upload a PDF copy of your lease, confirm your monthly rent, and Bilt reviews the lease before it starts reporting. Bilt then sends your rent to the landlord for you. Third-party guides describe that as fee-free by bank transfer or mailed check, but confirm how your payment method is treated in the app before you switch, because the rules for paying rent by card have changed with Bilt's card program.

Can Bilt report my past rent payments?

Yes, but only rent you already paid through Bilt. Bilt says you can include past payments at enrollment, and that to report them they "must have been paid: Through Bilt, On-time, Towards your current lease, For payment amounts greater than or equal to the amount that you are enrolling for." Rent paid by check, Zelle or a landlord portal before you joined does not qualify.

That makes Bilt weaker than its price suggests for someone who has been paying the same landlord for two years outside the app. Zillow's programs and CreditClimb can add up to 24 months of past rent on your current lease, and Rental Kharma reports every past month at your current rental for a $75 enrollment fee. If back history is the point, a service that verifies rent you paid elsewhere does more on day one. If you are starting fresh, Bilt's free month by month reporting is hard to beat.

Does Bilt report late rent payments?

No. Bilt's Credit Boost page says "we only report your on-time payments." During enrollment, Bilt asks for "the date your property accepts on-time rent payments," and "as long as you pay before the date provided, your rent is considered on time." That means a payment inside your landlord's grace period can count, if you enter the grace date honestly.

Two practical points follow. Enter the date your lease actually gives you, because Bilt lets you edit enrollment details only until the first report is generated (Bilt Alliance residents get 48 hours after enrolling). And a month that is not reported is simply missing, not negative, so one late month will not damage your file through Bilt. It will still break the streak a lender reads, and your landlord can still send seriously unpaid rent to collections on their own.

Can I use Bilt rent reporting with a roommate?

Not if you split the rent. Bilt's help center says "You will have to submit a payment for the total rent payment amount that is stated on your lease (excluding utilities). At this time, we do not support rent reporting for roommates who will be splitting their rent." One person has to pay the full base rent through Bilt for the account to report.

For couples and roommates, that changes the math. Either one person pays the full rent and gets the tradeline while the other gets nothing, or you pick a service that reports each renter. Rental Kharma adds a spouse or roommate for $25 once plus $5 a month, and services that read your bank account report whatever you personally pay. Enter only base rent at enrollment: Bilt says to exclude utilities, parking and internet.

Is Bilt rent reporting good or bad for my credit?

For most renters it is neutral to good, because Bilt reports only on-time months and you have to opt in. Bilt says rent reporting "can increase a consumer's score up to 20 - 100 points depending on an individual's other financial activities," adds "there are no guarantees," and its editorial page cites 40 to 60 points after 24 months. Those are marketing ranges, not averages for Bilt users.

Whether it helps you depends on two things. The first is your file: a rent tradeline does the most when you have few accounts or no score at all, and Bilt says it can establish a score for credit-invisible renters. The second is the score your lender uses. VantageScore 3.0 and 4.0 and FICO Score 9 and 10 read rent data; FICO Score 8, still the score most card and auto lenders pull, ignores it, and so do the classic FICO scores most mortgage lenders still use. The FICO Score 9 Bilt shows in its app is one of the versions that does read rent, so a gain there may not appear on the score a lender pulls.

Is Bilt rent reporting closed?

No. As of 24 October 2026 Bilt's help center still walks members through enrolling from the Pay Rent tab, and the Credit Boost page still promises free three-bureau reporting. What changed in 2026 was Bilt's credit card: the original Wells Fargo-issued Bilt Mastercard ended and the card moved to a new issuer. That is a card change, not the rent reporting program.

Rent reporting is tied to your Bilt membership and to paying rent through Bilt, not to holding the card. If you see a "closed" status in the app, check whether it refers to a card account rather than your Credit Boost enrollment, and look under View Rent Reporting Settings for the enrollment itself. Disputes about what Bilt reported go directly to the credit bureaus, per Bilt's help center.

Where CreditPal fits

CreditPal answers the question before you move your rent payments: will a rent tradeline move the score your next lender pulls? It connects read-only, explains in plain English what is helping and hurting your score, and lets you simulate adding a rent account in the credit score simulator before you decide. If the real drag on your file is a late payment, high utilization or a collection, CreditPal shows you that, so you spend your effort where it counts.

If your landlord collects rent on other software, read our Zillow rent reporting review, the RealPage rent reporting review or the Buildium rent reporting review. To compare every service on price and bureaus, see the best rent reporting services.

Straight answers

Questions people ask before they buy

Does Bilt report rent to all three credit bureaus?

Yes. Bilt's Credit Boost page says it reports rent payments to Experian, TransUnion and Equifax at no cost. Only on-time payments made through Bilt are reported, and you have to opt in first. Bilt says it will not send anything to the bureaus without your permission.

How long does Bilt rent reporting take to show up?

Bilt's help center says it typically takes 45 to 60 days, and can take longer, before reported rent appears on your credit report. Its Credit Boost page says most users see initial changes within 30 to 60 days after their first reported payment. Pull your free weekly reports at annualcreditreport.com to confirm the tradeline.

Do I need the Bilt credit card for rent reporting?

No card requirement appears on Bilt's rent reporting pages. Bilt says all Bilt members are eligible for Credit Boost and the condition is paying your rent through Bilt. Paying by bank transfer is enough. Check in the app how card payments for rent are treated, because Bilt changed its card program in 2026.

Does Bilt rent reporting work if my landlord is not a Bilt partner?

Yes. Bilt runs a separate enrollment for non-partner buildings. You upload a PDF of your lease, confirm your base rent, and Bilt verifies the lease before reporting. When you renew, upload the renewal, plus the original lease if the renewal does not show the new dates.

Is Bilt rent reporting worth it?

It is worth it if you pay the full rent yourself, are willing to pay it through Bilt, and your next lender uses a score that reads rent, such as VantageScore or FICO 9 and 10. It is weaker if you split rent with a roommate, need past rent paid outside Bilt, or will be scored on FICO 8 or a classic mortgage score.

How do I enroll in Bilt rent reporting?

In the Bilt app or website, open the Pay Rent tab, scroll to Boost your credit with every payment and tap Enroll. In a non-partner building you then upload a PDF of your lease, confirm your personal details and your monthly rent, and Bilt contacts you once the lease is verified.

See it on your own credit profile

Connect read-only, transparent pricing, no credit card. Educational only, never a lender or financial advice. Decide for yourself.