Alternative
Entrata Rent Reporting Fee, the RentPlus Lawsuit and How to Opt Out
Entrata rent reporting means RentPlus. Entrata, the property management software company behind the resident portal many apartment buildings use, owns RentPlus through its 2023 purchase of Rent Dynamics, and the fee shows up on your ledger as a lease or amenity charge. In late May 2026 two tenants filed a proposed nationwide class action in Colorado federal court alleging that RentPlus enrolls renters automatically at lease signing, that landlords receive a payment for each enrollment, and that the product is marketed to renters as credit building. Those are allegations, not findings, and Entrata has defended RentPlus as a way to build credit through on-time rent. CreditPal is not a rent reporting service and has no stake in the case. It reads your credit file read-only and tells you whether a rent tradeline would move the score your next lender pulls, so you can decide whether the charge is worth keeping.
Current score
What is moving the score
Try an action and see where it points
Turn an action on above to see the likely direction and rough size of the change, with the reasoning.
The plan, in order of what pays off first
-
·
Pick a profile, run a what-if, see your plan
Side by side
CreditPal vs Entrata Rent Reporting
| Capability | CreditPal | Entrata Rent Reporting |
|---|---|---|
| What you pay | From $7 a month ($84 billed yearly, or $9 month to month) | Set by your property manager, a provider rate card lists $9.95 (conventional) or $6.95 (affordable) per resident per month |
| Who chooses it | You do | Your property manager, often through the lease |
| Bureaus | Not applicable | One, two or three depending on the contract with your property manager, per the RentPlus FAQ |
| Past rent | Not applicable | Up to 24 months on your current lease, per RentPlus materials |
| Does the fee end when you move out? | Cancel any time | Yes, the policy ends with the lease |
| Counts in the FICO score most lenders pull | Explains why or why not | Not in FICO Score 8 or the classic mortgage scores |
| Tells you whether a rent tradeline would move your score | ||
| What-if simulator before you spend anything |
Comparison reflects general product positioning and is provided in good faith. Verify current capabilities with each vendor.
The field
What the tools cost and who each one is for
| Tool | What it actually is | Typical price | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Entrata RentPlus | Sold to property managers and added to your rent ledger. Reports on-time rent only, back-reports up to 24 months automatically and bundles credit monitoring and identity theft cover | Not published to renters. Provider rate card lists $9.95 per resident per month at conventional properties and $6.95 at affordable properties, with $3 per resident returned to conventional properties. Renters report $8.95 to $14.95 | Renters whose building already includes it and who would not report rent otherwise |
| Zillow CreditClimb | You pay Zillow, no landlord software needed, and it reports to all three bureaus with up to 24 months of past rent | $20 a year | Renters who want to choose and own the account |
| Bilt Credit Boost | Free when you pay rent through Bilt, reports to all three bureaus | Free | Renters willing to move their rent payment to Bilt |
| Boom | Links your bank account and identifies your rent payments, no landlord agreement needed | $5 a month plus $25 once for 24 months of past rent | Renters who want a self-chosen service at a low monthly price |
| CreditPal | Not a rent reporting service. An AI credit coach that reads your file, shows whether a rent tradeline would move the score your lender pulls, and simulates it first | From $7 per month | Deciding whether any rent fee is worth paying before you keep paying it |
RentPlus figures come from the RentPlus FAQ, a published provider rate card and Towards Justice, the legal advocacy group that filed the class action in late May 2026, read on 29 October 2026. The lawsuit allegations are the plaintiffs' claims and have not been decided by a court. The amount on your own statement is set by your property manager, so read your lease addendum or resident portal for your figure. Other prices were checked against each provider's own pages. CreditPal is not affiliated with any service listed here, is not a party to the case, earns nothing if you choose one, and does not report rent.
What is Entrata rent reporting?
Entrata rent reporting is RentPlus. Entrata is the software company behind a large share of apartment resident portals, and it owns RentPlus after buying its maker, Rent Dynamics, in 2023. When a line on your ledger reads RentPlus, Rent Dynamics or rent reporting, your property manager has contracted the product on your building's behalf. The RentPlus FAQ says the fee is "usually added to your rent charges as a lease or amenity charge" and that "the cost varies depending on your property management company."
In return, RentPlus reports your on-time rent to the credit bureaus and, per its materials, back-reports up to 24 months on your current lease. Late payments are not reported through it. Our RentPlus fee review covers the price, bureaus and cancellation in detail.
What does the Entrata RentPlus lawsuit say?
On 31 May 2026 Towards Justice and the firm Kelly Guzzo, PLC filed a proposed nationwide class action against Entrata in Colorado. The plaintiffs, Uriah Fish and Kelley Rowan, allege that RentPlus uses an "auto-enrollment scheme": renters were enrolled as part of signing the lease and charged a monthly fee, and Entrata's own case studies show enrollment rising once renters had to opt out rather than opt in. The complaint also alleges that participating landlords receive kickbacks, and it cites the Credit Repair Organizations Act, which restricts what credit-improvement services can promise and charge.
These are allegations in a complaint. No court has ruled, Entrata has said RentPlus helps renters build credit through on-time payments, and the case may change before it is decided. Entrata has also disclosed in a securities filing that it is a defendant in other class actions over rent reporting. If you are weighing whether to keep paying, the lawsuit is not a reason to assume you were overcharged. Your own ledger and lease are the facts that matter.
How do I opt out of Entrata rent reporting?
Start with the lease. Find the addendum or fee schedule that lists rent reporting, credit reporting or RentPlus, and read whether it is optional. Then email your property manager and ask three things in writing: whether the charge is optional, how to remove it, and from which month the fee stops. Keep the reply.
Some buildings let you decline in the resident portal, others only through the leasing office. If a manager says it is mandatory, ask which lease clause requires it. A rent reporting charge you cannot remove may be worth raising with your state attorney general's consumer protection office or the CFPB, which take complaints about credit reporting and fees. Months already reported stay on your file. Stopping the charge only stops new months being added.
Which credit bureaus does Entrata report your rent to?
It depends on your building. The RentPlus FAQ says it reports "to either Experian, Equifax, or TransUnion, or all three depending on the contract we have set up with your property management company." The price on your ledger does not change either way, so you cannot tell which one you have from the bill.
Check instead. Pull your free weekly reports at annualcreditreport.com two to three months after the first charge and look for a rent account. If you pay $9.95 a month, $119.40 a year, and the tradeline appears at only one bureau, the benefit is much smaller than the marketing suggests.
Is Entrata rent reporting worth it?
It is worth keeping only when the tradeline lands where your next lender looks, that lender uses a score model that reads rent, and the fee is low next to the alternatives. FICO Score 8 and the classic mortgage scores ignore rent data, while VantageScore 3.0 and 4.0 and FICO 9 and 10 read it. If your score is low because of high card balances or a collection, a rent tradeline will not touch the cause.
Cheaper routes exist when you want rent reported. Zillow CreditClimb is $20 a year, Bilt is free if you pay rent through Bilt, and Boom is $5 a month. See our Zillow rent reporting review, Bilt rent reporting review and the best rent reporting services. AppFolio and Buildium buildings run into the same pattern, covered in our AppFolio rent reporting review and Buildium rent reporting review.
Where CreditPal fits
CreditPal answers the question before you pay or cancel: would a rent tradeline move the score my lender actually pulls? It connects read-only, explains in plain English what is helping and hurting your score, and lets you add a rent account in the credit score simulator to see the effect first. If the real drag on your file is a late payment, high utilization or a collection, CreditPal shows that, so the $119 a year can go where it counts.
Straight answers
Questions people ask before they buy
Does Entrata report rent to credit bureaus?
Yes, through RentPlus, the rent reporting product Entrata owns. It reports on-time rent to Experian, Equifax or TransUnion, or all three, depending on the contract between RentPlus and your property manager. Late payments are not reported through it. The fee is set by your property manager.
What is the Entrata RentPlus class action about?
A proposed nationwide class action filed in Colorado in late May 2026 alleges RentPlus auto-enrolls renters at lease signing, charges a monthly fee and pays landlords for enrollments, and cites the Credit Repair Organizations Act. These are allegations only. No court has ruled, and Entrata has defended RentPlus as a credit-building tool.
How much does Entrata rent reporting cost?
There is no published renter price. The RentPlus FAQ says the cost varies by property management company. A provider rate card lists $9.95 a month per resident at conventional properties and $6.95 at affordable properties, and one plaintiff in the lawsuit reports paying $9.95 a month. Check your own ledger for your figure.
Can I opt out of RentPlus on Entrata?
Often you can, but it depends on your lease. Find the rent reporting line in your lease addendum, ask your property manager in writing whether it is optional and how to remove it, and keep the reply. Stopping the fee stops new months being reported, and months already reported stay on your file.
Is Entrata rent reporting worth it?
It is worth it only if the tradeline reaches the bureau your lender pulls, the lender uses a score that reads rent, and you cannot get the same reporting cheaper. Zillow CreditClimb is $20 a year and Bilt is free when you pay rent through it, so a $9.95 monthly fee is hard to justify in most cases.
Does Entrata rent reporting build credit?
It can add an on-time rent account to your file, which helps in scoring models that read rent, such as VantageScore and FICO 9 and 10. It does not change FICO Score 8 or the older mortgage scores. It also does not fix a low score caused by high balances, collections or late payments on other accounts.
Other comparisons
See it on your own credit profile
Connect read-only, transparent pricing, no credit card. Educational only, never a lender or financial advice. Decide for yourself.